Reading Harry Potter in German language

I’ve finally finished reading “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone” in German language – “Harry Potter und der Stein der Weisen”.

142293

I bought this book in July 2013 and it’s taken me nearly four years to read it! I’ve only been reading bits of it at a time, although I spent a bit more time reading it towards the end of 2016 in a bid to finish it!

Obviously, it’s still the same story, but in German, so I can’t really review it! However, it’s good to be able to use my German skills and read a full book in German, despite me knowing most of the book off by heart in English! That does help though as I can see the English version in my head as I read the German  sentences! I found it useful seeing how the German grammar structure works and it’s good to learn new German vocabulary!

I probably won’t read the test of the series in German, although I’m considering getting one of the books in French next!

Leave a comment