Lockdown: an introvert’s paradise?

With the UK currently in a third national lockdown, I’ve come to find that I quite like a lockdown (in a weird way). Don’t get me wrong, being in a lockdown is rubbish, but I’m just trying to make the best of a bad situation while doing my bit to help us get through this rubbish time.

Here are my advantages of being in lockdown:

  • I’m an introvert – I like a quiet life at home and with less contact with people, so this is the perfect situation for me.
  • I don’t really like ‘people’. Full stop.
  • Less contact with strangers – I don’t like people invading my personal space, and now no-one comes near me when I need to venture out!
  • I don’t really like going ‘out’ out.
  • No attending awkward social events, like work Christmas parties.
  • No annoying drunk people outside or inside pubs/bars (because they’re shut and everyone is drinking at home.)
  • I feel better knowing people are more likely to have washed/sanitised their hands recently before touching things like shop doors.
  • Less walking across the office to discuss things face-to-face with people – I’ve always preferred to just send emails instead.
  • If I’m having a bad face day but still need to go to the supermarket, it doesn’t matter because I’m wearing a mask anyway and no-one cares.
  • If there’s a day (or a week) where I want to hibernate and not see people, I’m at home anyway.
  • Pyjamas are acceptable daywear (unless on video chat, then just the bottoms).
  • I don’t have to wear make-up all the time (not that I ever wore that much to begin with).
  • My hobbies are now considered cool, and give me something to talk about with friends – painting, reading, baking, etc.

Of course, it’s not all good news:

  • When this is over, I’ll have forgotten how to interact face-to-face with real people.
  • I live alone, so I haven’t seen any friends in person for months (but thankfully I’m in a support bubble with my parents so I can still see/hug them).
  • I’m pretty sure I’m going to die alone because I can’t go out and meet new people or potential future partners.
  • The bookshops are closed – I miss wandering around Waterstones on a weekend and browsing for my next read.
  • Television is now mainly just repeats or rubbish reality shows.

Do you agree or disagree? Is there something you’re enjoying? Or not enjoying?

One thought on “Lockdown: an introvert’s paradise?

  1. I’m split on this one. I’m loving the at home time, but also could definitely use with a change of scene! I never realized how much going into the office helped me keep balance. I’m an “extroverted introvert” or something like that. So lock downs (even though we haven’t had one since March in my part of the US) were easy, but it’s been frustrating to see so many people go super hard into lockdown and be even more careful than we were (i.e. grocery wipe downs) but now are just flagrantly disregarding any sort of guidelines. It’s really made me re-think some friendships which isn’t great.

Leave a comment