Book Review: Stardust

Posted: February 22, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve just finished reading “Stardust” by Neil Gaiman.

“Stardust” by Neil Gaiman (via Goodreads)

I saw a small part of the recent film version but decided I’d rather read the book first as it sounded interesting. This book is so good that I ended up reading it twice in one week!

The blurb reads:

At the dawn of the Victorian era, life moves at a leisurely pace in the tiny town of Wall. Young Tristran Thorn has lost his heart to the beautiful Victoria Forester, but Victoria is as cold and distant as the star she and Tristran see fall from the sky one evening. For the prize of Victoria’s hand, Tristran vows to retrieve the star for his beloved. It is an oath that sends the lovelorn swain over the town’s ancient wall and into a world that is dangerous and strange beyond imagining…

The plot is really good, with the subplots adding extra little bits to the overall story. Tristran goes off into the magical world over the wall in search of the fallen star, knowing that others are trying to find the star too and cause harm.

The people and creatures he meets along the way are a fascinating bunch of characters, and it soon becomes apparent that Tristran himself is not quite as human as he thought he was.

The Victorian world so different to the Faerie world, but at the same time they still intermingle, especially with Tristran learning old nursery rhymes in Wall and then discovering they actually mean something over the boundary wall  and they actually save his life.

There’s so many twists in the story and it’s really satisfying when you work out the links between events and the characters. The descriptions are really beautiful and very typical of a fairy tale but it all works really well. I’m not sure the content would always be suitable for children as it’s a little bit more like an old-fashioned fairy tale, and not a Disney sanitised version! I’m not sure I want to watch the film version any more, as the little research I’ve done looks like it changes a bit too much of the story.

I had to read this book twice because I realised I’d missed bits in my eagerness to find out what happened next, but it was even better the second time round! I love this book and I’m so glad I bought it on a whim! I’m giving it 9/10!

Leave a Reply

