Happy New Year!

I’ve been thinking about the books I could be reading in 2016 lately, especially as I didn’t get any for Christmas for a change! I’m not sure if it’s a good thing or not: on one hand, you never know what books people will give you and you may either love or hate it; or on the other hand, if you ask for specific books, you know what you’re getting but it’s a bit less exciting.

Books are just so personal! At Christmas, I went for the option of giving adult colouring books to two of my friends because I could choose themes they’re into and it’s an easier choice than picking a novel I like or think they may like!

This year, I’m doing another Reading Journal where I’m just reading what I want, when I want! I do still have books which I haven’t managed to finish from previous years though:

  • “One Hundred Years of Solitude” by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • “To The Letter” by Simon Garfield
  • “A Tale of Two Cities” by Charles Dickens
  • “Harry Potter und der Stein der Weisen” by J.K. Rowling (in German)

I am determined to get these books finished this year because they’ve been a bit hard to get through and I keep dipping in and out!

I have decided that I want to get some new books read this year which I have not read before and feel I ought to read:

  • “The Great Gatsby” by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • “Northanger Abbey” by Jane Austen
  • “Persuasion” by Jane Austen
  • “The Shining” by Stephen King

I suspect they may not be the easiest of reads, but I need to get some classic novels into the mix in 2016!

I haven’t seen any new novels which I want to read yet, despite having a browse online and in my local bookshop at the weekend. Usually, when I pop into a bookshop when I’m not seriously looking for anything, I find loads that I want and I buy them. Then, on days when I’m seriously looking for books to read, I find nothing!

Never mind, I’m sure I’ll find something new to read soon, and in the meantime, I’ll crack on with the above lists!

Comments
  1. Geoff W says:

    Yay for Jane Austen! I’ve been thinking about re-reading The Great Gatsby as I read it in high school and wasn’t the biggest fan, but feel like it might be a different experience now.

Leave a Reply

