Yesterday, I was at a loose end so I went into town for the afternoon and just mooched around.

I’ve been really strict with myself for months because I banned myself from buying any new books until I finished the ones I’m halfway through. It’s a bad habit that I have of getting bored of one book and starting another (or several, as the case has been!), so I was determined to get the pile on my bedside table finished!

As I finished Jane Austen’s “Mansfield Park” this week and have got back into reading “The Goldfinch” by Donna Tartt, I decided that if I saw any books which I wanted, then I could buy one. I popped into Waterstones and ended up staying for at least an hour! As they had an offer on of “Buy One, Get One Half Price”, I decided to get 2 books!

I am now the owner of:

“Wild” by Cheryl Strayed (via Goodreads)

and

“Divergent” by Veronica Roth (via Goodreads)

Both books have been made into films recently and have been talked about a lot, which is mainly why I want to read “Wild”. It sounds like an interesting book and I like people’s stories of their voyages of self-discovery! Maybe I’ll see the film after I’ve read it, but I’ll see what the book is like first.

“Divergent” has been on my To-Buy list for a while as it sounds like the sort of dystopian YA novel that I would be into. The film coming out isn’t actually my motivation to read it, but it was on special offer and I felt that now was a good time to see what it’s like!

I’ve just got to finish “The Goldfinch” first now, before I can start one of these new books!

Comments
  1. Geoff W says:

    I read an interesting article about Strayed that made me more curious about reading her book. I haven’t really had an urge to read Divergent but maybe one day.

Leave a Reply

