Revamping my bookshelves

Posted: January 26, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

In the run up to Christmas, I started to re-decorate my bedroom. This was probably a stupid idea, given that I was working full time with unsociable hours and I was knackered! But I like to do everything at once sometimes!

It meant that I had to basically dismantle my bedroom and decamp to the sofa downstairs for a fortnight (not the most comfortable place to sleep), while my room was a complete mess.

My poor books got kicked off their shelves and into boxes or piled on the floor, along with all my other non-book items which were cluttering up my shelves!

My bookshelves BEFORE

My bookshelves BEFORE

Books everywhere!

Books everywhere!

I decided to paint my shelves as the polished wood had never been changed in all the years I’ve had them! They are now grey! I used an amazing chalk paint, which you just slap on over anything and you don’t need to prep the surface (except dusting it!), and it covered really well! I had to wax it to seal it, which was epically toxic and smelly, but it made my shelves a bit more hard-wearing! (Although, I didn’t paint the underside of the shelves, but never mind!)

Empty freshly painted shelves

Empty freshly painted shelves

My empty shelves went back up and I wondered how to arrange my books, like the book geek that I am!

Obviously, I went for the original idea of putting all the fiction in alphabetical order, with my non-fiction stuck in size order so they fit (just about!) on the shelf at the bottom.

Tidy fresh bookshelves

Tidy fresh bookshelves AFTER

I used to have my DVDs on the top shelf, but as I have gained many more books since I last re-arranged my shelves, I decided to stick them in boxes under my bed so my books have more room and look tidier! And, of course, my books take priority!

They look so much better now! My only problem is that I have a pile of books on my bedside table which won’t fit neatly back on the shelves when I’ve finished them! I might need to get more shelves, or God forbid, have a sort out and donate some!

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    …Didn’t look too bad before… looks amazing now though! Will have to investigate chalk paint, me thinks! Don’t abandon your random books though, (they have feelings you know!) .M

  2. Anonymous says:

    …Didn’t look too bad before…looks amazing now though! Might have to investigate chalk paint, me thinks! Remember, books have feelings – don’t let them go!.

  3. Geoff W says:

    I know what you mean! My goal this year is to read enough books from my bookshelf to actually have space to add more, fingers crossed it happens.

Leave a Reply

