Why not read a book?

Posted: January 11, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

So many terrible things are happening in the world these days, especially recently with so much violence happening on the streets of places where the peace is rarely broken.

My heart goes out to all those people killed and their loved ones who are affected.

I can’t help but think that it is horrendous that the peace is being shattered by a few idiots (for lack of a better word), who have some twisted belief system where they think they can justify killing innocent people by saying their God told them to.

I’m a “live and let live” sort of person, who believes that everyone can (and has the right to) believe whatever they want, but as long as they don’t try to force their beliefs on others. I understand that religion is complicated and that there are many different shades of grey and things are rarely ever black and white. I, myself, was brought up in a Christian country and went to a Church of England school but my family isn’t religious. I only go to church for christenings, weddings and funerals, and also because I love their architecture and beauty. I have beliefs that are loosely tied to the church but I don’t take anything too seriously. I like to keep an open mind and find what’s best for me.

However, I see one thing in plain black and white: KILLING PEOPLE IS WRONG. Whether they are innocent or not.

So what if someone drew a cartoon to mock your religion? You don’t go and shoot them in revenge.

I can’t believe that people can get up in the morning and think “I’m going to go and shoot people today”.

Why not just read a book instead? Or watch television? Or spend time with your loved ones? Life is too short to take something things too seriously.

There are loads of amazing books out there. Ok, so maybe reading things that mock your religion isn’t going to help matters, but hey, YOU DON’T HAVE TO GO LOOKING FOR THAT SORT OF THING IN THE FIRST PLACE!

I like to escape from the world by reading a good book. Harry Potter is good: it taught me that love is the most important thing in life.

Books teach us many important life lessons, including how to respect ourselves and others around us. Don’t just read one book and see the world from one single viewpoint – read lots of different books with lots of different viewpoints. If you can’t find something good to read, then ask around! Or watch a nice film or something. Just don’t take anything too seriously and let it drive you to do terrible things.

Leave a Reply

