Reading and Exercise

Posted: January 7, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

How are readers not obese? All the readers I know are normal sizes.

We sit around reading for hours at a time and we don’t put on weight.

We even like our snacks while reading, if it’s possible to hold the book with one hand and eat with the other. Or just a nice glass of wine, a cup of tea or a mug of hot chocolate (the latter being my tipple of choice while reading).

Is it because we readers don’t eat as much junk food as other people? Maybe because we’ve read too many books which describe amazing meals – The Famous Five is a good one, with all those picnics of cold chicken, cakes, hard-boiled eggs and fresh bread.

It’s not like people who sit watching television while stuffing themselves with food and gain weight. Maybe it’s harder to eat when you’re reading?

In all fairness, I’ll happily sit and read for hours on end, and then I’ll be fidgety again and move about to make up for it.

I can’t exercise and read at the same time, and it’s not from lack of trying!

I don’t like reading on trains that much either – if it’s daytime then I like looking out of the window, and if it’s dark then I tend to snooze! I usually have my headphones and listen to music while travelling.

I’m more likely to read on a plane, but I get fidgety after a while because I don’t like being confined on a plane for very long, and reading doesn’t distract me very well.

I used to read in the car when I was little: I usually did this on the journey home from the library, but I always felt car-sick by the time I got home so I don’t read in the car any more. However, I’m the one driving these days, so it’s not a good idea to read and drive!

Kindles make it easier to attempt to exercise while reading, but maybe some activities are just not meant to be combined!

Thoughts?

Comments
  1. Geoff W says:

    Haahaa some of us are much larger than we should be 😛

    I think my greatest fear is that one day I won’t be able to read in a car/on a train/plane one day. I get so much of my reading done commuting that it would be a serious hit on my reading time.

Leave a Reply

