25 books every girl should read before turning 25

Posted: November 26, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I recently found a list of books which every girl should read before she turns 25, compiled by Rachel Grate on Hellogiggles.com. (For the article, see http://hellogiggles.com/25-books-for-every-girl)

There are some good titles in this list, some of which I have read, some which I have never heard of, and some which I’m interested in reading in the future.

The books listed are:

1. Daughter of Fortune by Isabel Allende

2. Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi

3. Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen

4. I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou

5. Matilda by Roald Dahl

6. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

7 The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

8. The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros

9. Graceling by Kristin Cashore

10. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

11. Bossypants by Tina Fey

12. The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison

13. Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

14. Forever . . . by Judy Blume

15. Feminism is For Everybody: Passionate Politics by bell hooks

16. The Diary of A Young Girl by Anne Frank

17. The Secret of Platform 13 by Eva Ibbotson

18. Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

19 A Wrinkle in Time by Madelein L’Engle

20. Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

21. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

22 Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

23. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

24. Esperanza Rising by Pam Muñoz Ryan

26 “Fun Home” by Alison Bechdel

 

I may be 26 now, but I did read 5 of these books by the time I was 25:

3: I read this classic a while ago, and (so far) think it is the best Austen novel.

5: I love Matilda and her magic powers because she is so strong-willed and independent for her age.

6: I discovered the film adaptation of this dystopian book first and decided to read the book to learn more about the story and was fascinated and terrified by the possibilities imagined in it!

20: I read this as a teenager and loved the quirky character of Stargirl and the story.

21: I finally got around to reading this not long ago, and thought it was quite good.

 

I’m not sure but I may have read Anne Frank’s diary back in primary school. I certainly need to read it properly!

I would like to read “To Kill a Mockingbird” as it’s been on my list for a while.

I’m interested in reading “Bossypants” as well, just because I love Tina Fey in “Mean Girls”!

I’d like to try “Inkheart” and “Forever” as well!

 

This is quite a list to keep me going, especially as I love a bit of feminist literature! I intend to read some of these in the new year!

Leave a Reply

