My Publishing Work Placement Diary Days 7,8,9,10

Posted: March 31, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

I’ve finished my work placement at Kyle Books!

I meant to write an update at the end of last week but I’ve been too busy!

My last four days consisted of:

  • Photocopying publicity material and filing them
  • Sorting out several more lists of image requests and copy requests for various magazines and websites
  • Created publicity boards by taking photos from a book and adding details of an event to publicise the book
  • Made a folder containing new book covers on the server

On the Thursday evening, I went to a Recruiter’s Evening held by the SYP and mingled with publishing people. I spoke to people from Atwood Tate and Inspired Selection to get career advice, and chatted to other publishing wannabes about their experiences in trying to get a job in publishing. It was really interesting and helpful, and I was really glad I discovered that the event was happening on my very last night in London!

I really enjoyed my 2 weeks on placement and was gutted that it had to end! It’s so such a good experience working in London: I really got sucked into the whole atmosphere of living and working in London! It’s great being able to do something useful that actually helps people out, and I learned a lot as well. It gave me more confidence in my skills and abilties, and it was great to be able to talk to people actually working in the industry and seeing how they do they jobs and hear their experiences. It was also great to actually work in a publishing office and see how things are done day to day.

I would definitely consider moving to London now, although I would make sure I could afford it first because it was an expensive fortnight! I managed to visit loads of places and only really spent money on food, accommodation and travel because they cost so much that I couldn’t afford to buy much!

I’m going back to my job hunt with renewed energy and enthusiasm now!

Comments
  1. Geoff W says:

    Sounds like an awesome time! Good luck with the job search and can’t wait to hear how it all turns out.

Leave a Reply

