Job-hunting update

Posted: March 14, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

I have been looking for a job in publishing since I graduated from an MA in Publishing. It is now 2 and a half years since I graduated, and I have applied for, and been rejected from, at least 100 jobs (I actually stopped keeping count a while ago).

It is highly depressing.

I have also been looking for another unskilled job to keep me going until then, but that’s been a challenge as well. So I’m still living on my savings. I have a small amount of money coming in from reviewing book manuscripts (a position I got after getting rejected from the same company that i review for) but I’m still skint and I’m grateful that my parents let me live at home.

There are days when I find it really hard to deal with having no job. It makes it hard to get out of bed in the morning when you have nothing to get up for, and all your friends and family are out working and living life to the full. Everyone is too busy/far away, and I don’t have the money to go out and do all the things I would like to do (I live in the middle of nowhere). I get rejections constantly, but I still manage to pick myself up again and carry on with the job-hunt week after week. But I left my last job for a reason, and that reason is the thing that helps me get through every day: I want a job in Publishing.

I was relieved when I finally got an email just before Christmas inviting me to do a two week placement in London at a publishing house. Most of my energy is going into preparing for it. My only problem is that it doesn’t pay very much at all. And London is so expensive to stay/live in, especially when you’re a Northerner and can’t just commute! I’m just hoping my extensive accommodation search has found me a reasonably priced place to stay (as I don’t really know anyone who lives in London to stay with) and that the placement will be worth me forking out my precious savings. After all, any experience is experience!

I am really looking forward to my placement, but I’m nervous as it’s been a while since I last did any hands on work! I start on Monday, and it feels like it came around very quickly!

I’ll let you know how it goes!

Comments
  1. Geoff W says:

    I’m impressed you’ve kept pursuing it and that means so much more than so many people ever put in! London is super expensive and hopefully it’ll be a worthwhile two week investment! Good luck and can’t wait to hear about it.

  2. Maggie says:

    This could open all sorts of doors for you — you never know what kinds of things might come out of it! It’s true — all you can do is keep pushing forward, no matter what’s standing in front of you.

Leave a Reply

