Bookish New Year Resolutions

Posted: January 4, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Hello! I hope 2014 is treating you well so far!

I was lucky enough to get some nice books for Christmas:

My Christmas books

My Christmas books

I also got a bit of Christmas money so when i run out of reading material (like that ever happens!) then i’ll be able to buy some more!

As it’s New Year and everyone is mentioning resolutions, i have come up with a few bookish resolutions for myself:

  1. I will finish all the books which i started in 2013 and are still hanging around now we’ve entered 2014. There are 4 such books: “A Tale of Two Cities”, “Tickling The English” by Dara O’Briain, “Anna Karenina”, and “The Serious Game” by Hjalmar Söderberg.
  2. I will read at least 4 classics which i have never read before (and really ought to).
  3. I will read at least 1 play by Shakespeare.

I have also started a new Reading Challenge! I aim to read 125 books in 2014!

My 2014 Reading Challenge (via Goodreads)

My 2014 Reading Challenge (via Goodreads)

Maybe i’m being ambitious as i only managed 94/100 last year!

I’ve also inherited a load of books from my parents, as they were clearing out unwanted books take to the charity shop, and i managed to save a few that i’ve read before and enjoyed and also a few i’ve not read yet.

Books saved from the cull

Books saved from the cull

So, between this pile of 9, the 2 i got for Christmas, the 4 i haven’t finished from last year, and a backlog of at least 6 others waiting to be read, i think i’m sorted for the next few months!

I better get cracking!

Comments
  1. Geoff W says:

    Good luck with Anna Karenina and A Tale of Two Cities! There were parts of both that I struggled with, but they were both worth the journey.

Leave a Reply

