Bookish (of sorts) Update September 2013

Posted: September 23, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Hello!

I’m afraid i’ve been a bit quiet on the blogging front lately, i suppose partly due to pure laziness. Whoops!

However, much has happened in the last few months!

I quit my job in the hotel because i was quite frankly fed up with it. A poor excuse, but i wasn’t happy working there anymore, especially when it was supposed to be a temp job and turned into a full-time one. A mixture of reasons were behind my decision, but the main one was that it wasn’t helping me get into publishing and i was only doing it for the money, which was pretty rubbish anyway.

I know, everyone is saying “a job is a job”, “better a rubbish job than no job at all” blah blah blah, but when the time is right, you have to take the plunge.

So i’m unemployed but i am looking for jobs. I even had an interview two weeks ago down in Leicester but i was unsuccessful. I don’t want to be unemployed and broke, but at the same time it’s nice to have some headspace to work out where to go next.

In sort of related news, I started taking German classes back in the spring and i’m still doing them because they hopefully will get me to my goal of being fluent in a foreign language before i’m 30! Then i might get a chance at a job using German! ( I can dream…)

I went to Cornwall at the end of August for a well-deserved holiday, which really helped me chill out after so many long months of horrendous shifts.

I haven’t really been reading a whole lot lately, but i have about 5 books on the go:

“The Serious Game” by Hjalmar Söderberg

“The Secret Keeper” by Kate Morton

“Anna Karenina” by Leo Tolstoy

“The Horologicon” by Mark Forsyth

“A Tale of Two Cities” by Charles Dickens

I really need to stop this trend of starting a new book before i finish my current book!

Leave a Reply

