“His Dark Materials”

Posted: July 11, 2011 in Book Reviews
Tags: , , , ,
The cover of the book The Amber Spyglass.

Image via Wikipedia

I have been re-reading His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman recently.

Having not read it since i was a teenager (and a young one at that), i was intrigued to see how it would affect me this time around.

It’s still as magical and as engrossing a read as it was when i first read it, and it feels pretty much the same. But of course, i now know how controversial the content is, and i understand it more than before.

When i got to that bit in The Amber Spyglass where Lyra and Will start to realise they are in love with each other, i had to stop reading for a while. Having experienced these feelings myself in the time since i last read the series, it feels all the more potent to me. I felt profoundly moved by the description of the feelings and the emotions and the beauty of it. As i also know the feelings on heartbreak, this bit is difficult for me to read.

However, these books are simply awesome and i still love them as much as i did the first time i read them!

Comments
  1. I was an adult when I first read the trilogy and it was an excellent read.

  2. suzigun says:

    I was also quite grown-up when these were published. Not only did I love them, but they also inspired me to read Milton.

Leave a Reply

