The Autobiography of Alice B. Toklas, slightly...

Image by Ben.Harper via Flickr

Today’s question: What’s your least favourite book which you own?
“The Autobiography of Alice B. Toklas” by Gertrude Stein

– I bought this for my English degree, as it was one of our set texts in my 3rd year. It is awful, and i couldn’t stand studying it. I think i must have repressed the memory because i can’t even remember what we looked at it for! I know Stein was a big deal and everything, but i just don’t like this book, and the characters are just irritating. This is currently on my list of things to get rid of, which is saying something because i don’t like getting rid of books, but i doubt i’ll ever read this one again!

Leave a Reply

