Cover of

Cover of The Dare Game

Lately I’ve been thinking about the books I read as a child. Possibly because at uni we’re currently studying Children’s Publishing, and someone happened to ask me what I read as a child.

Having had a phase during my teens where I read very little because I was given access to my own computer with the Internet, and thus became obsessed with the new technology at my fingertips, I had quite forgotten what I read as a child, and I had cleared out all my unwanted childhood belongings in a fit of teenage desire to grow up. I am massively regretting giving all my childhood books away, as this list would be far easier to compile, and I would be a lot closer to having my own personal library!

So, I have been doing some research and I am compiling a list of books I read as a youngster, from the earliest ones i can remember, to the later ones in my teens. As I remember them I will add them to the list, so check back for my updates!

And so, in no particular order, here is my list:

  • Six Cousins at Mistletoe Farm – Enid Blyton
  • The Hungry Hungry Caterpillar – Eric Carle
  • Swallows and Amazons – Arthur Ransome
  • Swallowdale – Arthur Ransome
  • Charlotte’s Web-  EB White
  • His Dark Materials – Philip Pullman
  • The Chronicles of Narnia – C.S. Lewis
  • The Catcher In The Rye- J. D. Salinger (school text)
  • Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland- Lewis Carrol
  • Through the Looking Glass – Lewis Carrol
  • The Jungle Book – Rudyard Kipling
  • Green Eggs and Ham – Dr. Seuss
  • The Cat in the Hat – Dr Seuss
  • The Railway Children- E Nesbit
  • Tom’s Midnight Garden- Philippa Pearce
  • The Sheep-Pig -Dick King-Smith
  • The Iron Man- Ted Hughes
  • Z for Zachariah – Robert C. O’Brien (school text)
  • I Capture the Castle – Dodie Smith
  • 101 Dalmatians – Dodie Smith
  • Goodnight Mr Tom – Michelle Magorian (school text)
  • The Story of Tracey Beaker – Jacqueline Wilson
  • Bad Girls – Jacqueline Wilson
  • Vicky Angel – Jacqueline Wilson
  • Double Act – Jacqueline Wilson
  • The Mum-Minder – Jacqueline Wilson
  • The Bed and Breakfast Star – Jacqueline Wilson
  • Dustbin Baby – Jacqueline Wilson
  • The Dare Game – Jacqueline Wilson
  • Harry Potter – J.K. Rowling
  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – Roald Dahl
  • James and the Giant Peach – Roald Dahl
  • The Witches – Roald Dahl
  • Danny, The Champion of the World – Roald Dahl
  • Not Now Bernard – David McGee
  • Where’s Spot? – Eric Hill
  • Winnie the Pooh – AA Milne
  • The Tale of Peter Rabbit (and the other stories) – Beatrix Potter
  • The Magic Faraway Tree –Enid Blyton
  • The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame
  • A Bear called Paddington – Michael Bond
  • Peter Pan – JM Barrie
  • Burglar Bill – Janet and Allan Ahlberg
  • Funnybones – Janet and Allan Ahlberg
  • Famous Five – Enid Blyton
  • The Valley of Adventure (from The Adventure Series) – Enid Blyton
  • Elmer –David McGee
  • The Complete Brothers Grimm Fairy Tales
  • Pippi Longstocking – Astrid Lindgren
  • Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte
  • Treasure Island – RL Stevenson
  • Anne of Green Gables – L M Montgomery
  • The Adventures of Tom Sawyer –  Mark Twain
  • The Witch’s Daughter – Nina Bawden
  • Sweet Valley High series – Francine Pascal (only read a few in this and the other series)
  • Aesop’s Fables – William Caxton
  • Grimm’s Fairytales – The Brothers Grimm
  • The Little Mermaid, The Snow Queen, (and various other fairytales) – Hans Christian Anderson
  • Five Children and It – E. Nesbit
  • Pollyanna – Eleanor H. Porter
  • The Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien
  • The Noughts and Crosses series – Malorie Blackman
  • Babar The Elephant – Jean deu Brunhoff
  • The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants series – Ann Brashares
  • Animal Ark series – Lucy Daniels
  • Flour Babies – Anne Fine
  • Mr Men and Little Miss series – Roger Hargreaves
  • Nancy Drew: Sweet Revenge – Carolyn Keene
  • The Babysitter’s Club – Ann M. Martin
  • Stargirl – Jerry Spinelli
  • A Child’s Garden of Verses – R.L. Stevenson
  • Goosebumps series – R.L. Stine
  • Gulliver’s Travels – Jonathan Swift
  • The Catcher in the Rye – J.D. Salinger
  • 11 O’clock Chocolate Cake – Caroline Pitcher
  • Twilight series – Stephenie Meyer
  • Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal Snogging (and other titles) – Louise Rennison
  • Blinky Bill – Dorothy Wall
  • T.Witches: Double Jeopardy – H.B.Gilmour and Randi Reisfeld
  • Pongwiffy and the Spell of the Year – Kaye Umansky
  • The Wreck of the Zanzibar – Michael Morpurgo

Comments
  1. Hi! I noticed a lot of your books that you read when you were a kid are ones that I am reading (I’m a kid in the USA) (Treasure Island, The Hungry Caterpillar, Peter Pan, The Cat in the Hat, Through the looking glass…a bunch others.) I think I may read some on your list that I haven’t yet. Thanks for the suggestions!

    • bluecloverbelle says:

      Your welcome! I hope you find something interesting in this list! Bear in mind i will update this list as i come up with other titles, so be sure to check back!

  2. […] It got me thinking about all the books i read as a child, and there were quite a few of them! A few months ago i blogged a list of the books i remember reading when i was young, which can be found here. […]

Leave a Reply

