I thought today i would share a selection of my favourite books of all time with you.

1) the Harry Potter series

Complete set of the seven books of the

Image via Wikipedia

Brilliant book series, although not so brilliant film versions in my opinion. I had to mention this series obviously, not only because it is one of the bestsellers of all time, but also because it is one of the best series i’ve read. Can’t really say much more on this because so much has been written on it already!

My rating: 10/10 (books only!)

….

2) the Twilight saga


I came to this series around the time the first book was released as a film, and having been given the whole series for christmas by my friends, i read them all in succession. I loved the series on the first read, because i love fantasy novels. However, after reading this blog Longest Twilight Rant Ever, and getting my English student critical brain in gear while re-reading the series, i started to think that certain elements of the series are very wrong and a bit creepy! It is well written and a good read if you want something you don’t have to think about, but i think i ruined it for myself a little bit when i started getting all English-student-critical on it!

My Rating: 7.5/10

3) His Dark Materials trilogy – Philip Pulman

Another series which is brilliantly written and full of great ideas. I enjoyed this trilogy because it made you question your beliefs and so many other things we take for granted in life, and the way it introduces you to all these fresh ideas. I read it as a child of about 11 years old, and thought it was very grownup for a children’s book (that’s the market it seemed to be aimed at), but its a good read as an adult too.

My Rating: 9/10

4) Holy Fools – Joanne Harris


Joanne Harris is one of my favourite authors, and this is my second favourite of her novels. I enjoyed reading it because it was very different to anything i’ve read before and is quite refreshingly original. I highly recommend this book, although her other books are pretty good too.

My Rating: 8/10

5) The Lollipop Shoes – Joanne Harris


Known best for Chocolat, Harris also wrote this brilliant sequel  which catches up with Vianne and her daughters (she has had a second daughter since Chocolat). I thought a sequel wouldnt be as good as the first book, but Harris has managed to write something that was ultimately a great story, despite being a little hard to follow at times. As a result of this achievement, this is now my favourite book by Harris. The new characters we meet are interesting and add a lot of depth to the novel, and there is the occasional person from Vianne’s past who pops up. The ending is quite unexpected, and there are several twists in the book, particularly as there are themes of revenge, questioning of identity, and secrecy, and the story is described from 3 different viewpoints. It makes for interesting reading, and i thoroughly recommend it whether you have read Chocolat or not.

My Rating: 9/10

6) Beneath The Skin – Nicci French


Nicci French produces some nail-biting novels with interesting twists, and this is one particular favourite of mine. The constant threat to the 3 women in the novel is quite chilling and we see how much they are affected by the creepy stalker who seems to know all about each of them and their lives. It keeps you guessing all the way through and as each story unfolds, it is fascinating to see how each woman reacts. I love the suspense of the novel, and my brain was going crazy through reading it trying to work out who the stalker was! Definitely recommend it!

My Rating: 8/10

9) Atonement – Ian McEwan


I first read this while studying for my English A level, and although it took a while to get into it and i disliked it for a while BECAUSE i was studying it, i later started to appreciate just how good it is. The different viewpoints throughout the book is good because we see the story from different angles and how the central incident of the novel affects each character at the time it happened, and then later on in their lives. I have to admit that the protagonist Briony gets on my nerves a bit through certain bits of the novel, and the little twists throughout make you question the reliability of the narrator, but overall the story is well written and keeps you hooked right to the end.

My Rating: 7.5/10

10) Wicca series – Cate Tiernan


Not a widely known series, but i discovered this Young Adult novel in my teens and read the whole series (15 books!). Its about a teenage girl who realises she is actually a witch and has amazing powers, and the series chronicles her path in life as she goes through some traumatic and life-changing events as she learns about her new power, and the effects on her family, friends, and lovers. Its well written and the descriptions are really good, and although its a fairly easy read (and i’m a bit too old for the series now!), i still love it! I recommend it for teenagers, and i guess if you liked Twilight you’ll probably like this too!

My Rating: 9/10

So there you go – I hope this has been an interesting read, and i hope you will feel the urge to read any of the ones you haven’t read already!

Comments
  1. What a great blog site. I love the design and content. Maybe someday you’ll read one of my books. And, thanks again for commenting on my blog. It’s fun to meet new bloggers. All my best, Susan. 🙂

  2. alicely says:

    Very interesting! #1, 3 and 9 would be in my top 10, too. OK, maybe not 9 directly but I generally love Ian McEwan’s novels. I like some of his other books better than Atonement though, especially Saturday and Amsterdam. And #2 is my guilty pleasure reading!

    • bluecloverbelle says:

      Hello, i’m glad you enjoyed my blog! I have to say i havent read any other Ian McEwan novels yet, but they’re on my list of things to read!! Thanks for visiting!

  3. His Dark Materials is my absolute favorite book series! I just started reading Harry Potter :] I get strange stares at the bookstore because I’m 23 and reading it for the first time. But it’s wonderful and way better than the movies.

    Have you heard of the Abarat series by Clive Barker? If not, you should totally check it out. It’s a bizarre fantasy world where every island is a different hour of the day and the creatures of amazingly unique.

    http://www.amazon.com/Abarat-1-Clive-Barker/dp/0060596376/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1293991332&sr=1-1

    I recommend getting the hardcover version because it has very nice glossy pages and full-color paintings done by Barker himself.

    • bluecloverbelle says:

      Abarat sounds interesting, i will have to try it! And i am suprised that a 23 year old hasnt read Harry Potter but then many 23 year olds havent read a lot of books which they should have by now! I agree that the books are way better than the films, with most book adaptions i feel the film version ruins the book!

  4. […] a few hours looking back over my older blog posts the other night, and came across one post about 10 Great Books I Have Read. As I wrote this in December 2010, I thought it was time to have a look and update the list! I also […]

Leave a Reply

