“Talking books”, and Booksellers who don’t read books!

Posted: November 10, 2010 in Books and their issues
Tags: , , , , , ,
The venerable Foyles bookshop on the west side...

Image via Wikipedia

I thought today i would share some interesting news articles with you today, both based on the literary and publishing world.

The first is on the subject of “talking books”, which on Sunday 7th November turned the grand old age of 75 years old. For those of you who don’t know, this scheme of recording books and newspapers has been in place since the First World War, helping blinded soldiers to be able to read when they couldn’t see. It has been welcomed over the years by many people, and not just those who are blind or have poor eyesight, but also by those who simply prefer to listen than to read. I have to say that it is a great service, and my grandad has been helping keep the “talking newspaper” scheme going in his local area, and has been doing this for a long time. I’m sure many people who depend on these talking books look forward to being able to access what everyone else can see.

For more information, and the article i read, see Sales soar as talking books turn 75.

The second is on a recent article in which the chief executive of the book store Foyles in London says he has never read a book cover to cover.

I find this shocking for someone who is clearly passionate enough about books to work for a bookstore,  and i wonder how many other workers are employed in bookshops who don’t really care enough to read the books they sell.

I myself have tried several times to get a job in a bookshop and many of the applications i have filled in have required me to be passionate about book-selling, and as i have always loved books and even did my first-ever work experience in my local now-deceased Ottakars, i have always wondered why i never managed to get the job. Often i have come across people who don’t care about the product they are selling and it does show. You can always tell someone who just does the job for money.

So therefore i think it isnt really acceptable for a bookseller to not care about what they sell, i mean, in some cases it is ok to not to care so much for the product, like if its your first part-time job, but to be an executive of a bookstore and NOT care enough to read books just seems ridiculous to me!

For the article, see The bookseller who doesnt read novels.

I hope you enjoyed this and i hope you have been enlightened!

Comments
  1. M. Howalt says:

    I didn’t know that about the talking books. How touching. Thank you for mentioning it!
    As for booksellers, I wholeheartedly agree with you. Luckily, I have a very good friend who works in a bookstore, and she is quite the bookworm and reads across a lot of genres. I’m so glad to know that she happily guides her customers. – Incidentally, I think she sells more than employees who don’t aren’t enthusiastic about books, so it ought to be the better deal for the stores to hire people who care about books, I’d think

    • bluecloverbelle says:

      I’m glad i could enlighten you a little bit! 🙂
      And i think its great that there are some genuine book-lovers working in shops…especially if they sell more than the non-book-lovers!

Leave a Reply

