Looking back at 2011

Posted: December 22, 2011 in Book Reviews, Books and their issues

As 2011 comes to a close, i’m thinking about the book’s i’ve read.

My Top 5 favourite reads of 2011

1) “The Time Traveler’s Wife” by Audrey Niffenegger – Intriguing and beautifully written

2) “Unwind” by Neal Shusterman – Creepy, but excellent.

3) “One Day” by David Nicholls – Captures your attention and makes you care about the characters.

4) “Little Star” by John Ajvide Lindqvist – Excellent plot and great twists to keep you on your toes.

5) The Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson РWell written, gripping and fascinating.

I couldn’t pick just one of these as my overall favourite! They are all brilliant!

My least favourite book of 2011

- “Beatrice and Virgil” by Yann Martel- I just don’t think it is my cup of tea.

Weirdest book i’ve read

- “At The Edge of Light” by Maria Peura – An odd and confusing novel, but intriguing.

Most surprising book i’ve read

- “Love Virtually” by Daniel Glattauer – I didn’t think i would be able to get into this despite being intrigued by the plot, but i really enjoyed it!

My favourite translated book

- “Little Star” by John Ajvide Lindqvist – Starts with an intriguing opener, gets a little mundane and confused in the middle, but ends with a bang!

Comments
  1. Novroz says:

    The time traveler’s wife is a book with great and bad review…I don’t know whether to read it or not ;) good to know that you like it.
    I wanted to read the millennium trilogy since last year but I still haven’t bought the book yet,I am trying to reduce my books on my shelf

    • bluebookbelle says:

      It took me a while to get around to reading The Time Traveler’s Wife but i’m so glad i did in the end because its just the sort of thing i like, something that takes the ordinary and turns it into something more complicated. The Millennium Trilogy is worth all the hype in the press and is a good read even if you only read it once. Thanks for visiting my blog! :D

Leave a Reply

